Clothes Washing Powder

Also this weekend I made a batch of clothes washing powder based on a recipe from Clean, Naturally by Sandy Maine. The original recipe calls for:

16 cups of baking soda
12 cups of borax
8 cups of grated castile soap
3 tablespoons lavender, lemon, or grapefruit essential oil

Since I was using a castile soap bar with essential oils already in it (Dr. Bronner’s Citrus Orange Bar Soap), I decided to skip the essential oil. I made a small batch based on how much grated castile soap the bar would produce. The 5 oz bar grated up into just over 2 cups of flakes, so I used the following:

4 cups cups of baking soda
3 cups of borax
2 cups of grated castile soap

I tossed it all into the groovy glass canister that I scored at the thrift store a while back for about $3.00 and tossed in a little 1 cup aluminum scoop I found at the very cool Super 1 Foods grocery store in Colville while were on our big drive around the state.

The directions say to use 1/8 of a cup per load, but I have been using a 1/4 cup because we really know how to dirty clothes. Seems to work great!

— Amanda

Leave a Reply

