Hot pants!

OK, there’s something I have to explain here, before I can continue. For the thirty years I’ve been talking I have referred to what 99.9% of Americans call “pot holders” as “hot loppins”. Most of my family does it – it comes from Mom’s side. (We also call pacifiers “loochies”). Mom has always blamed it on her father’s German heritage – and I recently discovered that this is correct. (Thanks to my online German lessons.) The word we have been slaying is “Handlappen”. (The other one is “Lutscher”.) I have been unable to train myself to say “pot holder” (or “pacifier”), so you’re going to have to put up with some German in this post.

As you can see, our Handlappen were on their last legs last week. We’d had them since before we were married (four years ago).  So I whipped up some replacements from material left over from our door mats, which had been left over from Matt’s pants.
The technique I used was similar to the technique I used for the door mats, but this time I incorporated two layers of thin cotton batting. After I sewed the four squares together for the top I pressed the seams flat and pressed under the outer edges. I cut the batting just smaller than the top ended up (after ironing) and folded the edges of the backing (muslin, again) over the edges of the batting. I sandwiched the while shebang together, added a little loop (for which, had I been thinking, I would have used an actual belt loop instead of making a whole new thingie) and sewed right on through with jeans thread on my “new” (thrifted) sewing machine.
They didn’t take too long (although I did do a lot of basting, and therefore, a lot of basting-stitch removal) and they’ve been working quite well (particularly compared to the old pair!). I bake at least two loaves of bread a week, so having decent Handlappen is a must.
– Amanda
2 thoughts on “Hot pants!

  1. Here was that email I told you guys about, the English into German one:

    The European Commission has just announced that English will be the official
    language of the European Union. German, which was the other possibility, narrowly missed out.

    During negotiations, the British Government conceded that English spelling had some room for improvement and accepted a 5-year phase-in plan that would
    become known as “Euro-English”.

    In the first year, “s” will replace the soft “c”. Sertainly this will make
    sivil servants jump with joy. The hard “c” will be dropped in favor of “k”.
    This should klear
    up konfusion, and keyboards kan have one less letter.

    There will be growing publik enthusiasm in the sekond year when the
    troublesome “ph” will be replaced with “f”. This will make words like
    fotograf 20% shorter.
    In the 3rd year, publik akseptanse of the new spelling kan be expekted to
    reach the stage where more komplikated changes are possible. Governments
    will enkourage the removal of double letters which have always ben a
    deterent to akurate speling. Also, al wil agre that the horibl mes of the
    silent “e” in the languag is disgrasful and it should go away.

    By the 4th yer pepl wil be reseptiv to steps such as replasing “th” with
    “z”
    and “w” with “v”.

    During ze fifz yer, ze unesesary “o” kan be dropd from vords kontaining
    “ou”
    and after zis fifz yer, ve vil hav a reil sensibl riten styl. Zer vil be no
    mor trubl or difikultis and evrivun vil find it ezi tu understand ech oza.
    Ze drem of a united urop vil finali kum tru.

    Und after zis fifz yer, ve vil al be speking German; lik zey vunted in ze
    forst plas.

    If zis mad you smil, pleas pas on to oza pepl

    Like

Leave a Reply

