What to do, what to do . . .

Sometimes when we tell people that we don’t have TV they are instantly done talking to us, taking our comment as a sign that we are uppity. Sometimes when we tell people that we don’t have TV their eyes widen and they ask in astonishment, “Really? What do you do?” I am always just as astonished to be asked such a question. What do we do? All sorts of things. Here’s a few:
  • Read
  • Do housework (Trust me. There’s always housework.)
  • Knit or crochet
  • Sew
  • Raise livestock
  • Fix our vehicles
  • Cook from scratch
  • Preserve food
  • Garden
  • Talk to each other (Gasp!)
  • Blog
  • Visit friends
  • Rent free movies from the library (We do have a DVD player. We’re not trying to get kicked out of America here, we’re just cheap.)
  • Home improvements
  • Learn a foreign language
  • Listen to the radio
  • Entertain friends and family
  • Go for drives (known as “getting lost” in our patois)
  • Make music
  • Cruise thrift stores, junk stores, and swap meets
  • Fix stuff
  • Brew alcoholic beverages
Incidentally, this list can be adapted to answer the questions “What can I do to keep occupied while I’m trying to quit smoking?”, “What do I do with my time now that I’m unemployed?”, and, with the obvious exception of the food-related activities, “What can I do to keep my mind off my stomach while I’m dieting?” I’ve used it for all of the above.
 
Don’t like any of those answers? Go to the DIY section of your local library or bookstore and grab a volume at random. Soapmaking? Leatherworking? Basketry? Ham radio operation? Antiques appraising? Skateboarding? Bicycle repair? Genealogy? Voila, now you have a hobby. Go to it.
 
– Amanda
Leave a Reply

