Homemade dish soap from liquid Castile soap

I have made dish soap from scratch before (here) and I was pleased with the results. However, when we ran out of saved soap scraps (Yes, we are those people. Well, I am. Matt lets me do this stuff but he doesn’t get involved when I start washing plastic baggies and hoarding TP cores.) we went back to the store-bought stuff. Now that we make our own soap (here) there’s a lot more scraps around and if I want to I can grind up a whole bar for a purpose like this (most of the first batch will end up in our homemade laundry soap) because they’re plentiful and practically free. This recipe, however, was employed to use up some liquid Castile soap I’ve had for over a year without using.


This recipe, with few or no variations, is all over the web, but I originally saw on Hillbilly Housewife.

In a pump bottle or squeeze bottle mix the following:
2 cups liquid Castile soap
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/2 cup water

(Since this was a trial run for me I made 1/4 of the recipe: 1/2 cup Castile soap, 2 tablespoons water, and 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice.)

This stuff works quite well – I have no complaints in that department. However, I dislike the fragrance of the Kirk’s brand so that’s a drawback for me. Also, this is not cheaper for me than the store-bought stuff: this recipe works out to about $0.20 per ounce and the Planet brand dish soap I usually buy is $0.17 per ounce.

– Amanda
Leave a Reply

