DIY denim draft dodger

Ugh.  What a dismal picture.  The hallway needs repainting pretty badly and the carpet needs cleaning again. The divots in the floor are from Matt’s weights, which don’t fit anywhere else in the house.

The door to the back room stays shut year round because it doubles as a pantry: it’s where I keep our garlic and potatoes and onions, as well as overstock foods in cans (like coffee, cooking oil, canned goods).  It’s dry, but it needs to stay cool, too.

To help with that I decided to make a draft stopper.  There’s a lot of different names for these things when I ran across a few sites that called them draft dodgers I couldn’t resist.

I followed the simple tutorial on The Little House in the City to make my draft dodger.  My tube was not as wide as hers because I was putting mine at the bottom of a narrow door, so I had a little rice left over.  (About that: I didn’t really want to waste food on this project but the price of beanbag filling was prohibitive and long grain white rice was only $0.53/pound in the bulk department at WinCo.)  Getting the rice in there got interesting.  It involved a death grip, a canning funnel, and some quick work.  I spilled a little, but just a few grains — nowhere near the catastrophe I was anticipating.  (I should have waited until Matt got home to take pictures of my contortions to fill the tube and then machine sew the end shut.)

While I was at it I threw a knee patch on my work jeans.

Before.
During.
Part of my old sewing machine detaches from the sewing arm to make it narrower.  Good for working on sleeves and legs.
After.

— Amanda

Leave a Reply

