Recipe roundup

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Bar.

Sterling tested and Fink approved.

Oven-Fried Chicken Thighs with Buttermilk-Mustard Sauce from Cooking Light.  I must apologize for not mentioning this recipe a long time ago.  I’ve been making this since I first ran across the recipe when I was learning to cook in 2006 or so. It’s simple and it’s delicious and it never gets old.  I have served it to company (who raved) on a night where I substituted boneless pork chops for the chicken thighs (which I do often).  We call this recipe “Bucky thighs” because when Bucky the cat was still around he would go nuts when I made this.  He would yowl at the oven and then, if we didn’t have the foresight to corral him in a bathroom before we sat down to eat, he would clamber onto our laps and try to steal it off our plates.  Pro tip: always double the sauce.  Always.  (And keep your cats at bay.)
Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Bars from A Farmgirl’s Dabbles.  This was another instant favorite when I first tried it out on a big crowd at solstice party last summer.  These have everything going for them: you don’t have to precook the fruits, the cake is dense and moist and springy, the fruit is perfectly sweet-tart, and the streusel is the best streusel ever.  And there’s butter, butter, butter.  (Butter is my favorite ingredient.  My love of a recipe is directly proportional to its butter content.)  Good hot, good cold, good alone, good with ice cream.  You will make a giant mess in the kitchen, but it’s totally worth it.

Arugula and Lemon Couscous from Nigella Lawson.  Nigella has become one of my favorite celebrity chefs.  (I seem to like the British ones because my other two faves are Jamie Oliver and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall.)  We like couscous anyway but this is my new favorite way to prepare it.  The savory chicken stock, nippy lemon zest, and peppery arugula all work together to bring out the best in the couscous.  Not any more difficult than standard-issue couscous, but so much more flavorful.  (Also, it pairs well with the Bucky thighs.)

— Amanda

Leave a Reply

