Make a $40 wreath for $5.00

I have lamented the high price of fake flower wreaths in a previous post.  I like having a seasonal accent on the front of the house, but I’ll be damned if I’m going to pay as much for it as I would for a date night dinner at the local Greek-Italian pasta house.  If have fifty bucks to spare you can bet I’m opting for dim lighting, all-you-can-eat garlic bread, and a trough of Alfredo over a sprig of plastic cheer.

But today was my lucky day.  I was in the neighborhood so I dropped in at Jo-Ann to see if they had anything that wasn’t laughable in the clearance bin.  Fall stuff is moving in (and at Jo-Ann fall means Halloween, which takes over half the store) so spring and summer stuff is getting shunted off to the land of cut-throat price reduction.  In and amongst the fluorescent peonies, washed-out miniature daffodils, and psychedelic gerbera daisies I chanced upon thee bunches of really good looking red geraniums.  Score!  I have a big basket of real red geraniums hanging from the eave, so this was fitting.  Also, they were marked down from $5.99 a bunch to $1.49 a bunch.  Even better.

To make the bunches into a wreath my first move was to cut them apart into their various parts.  I snipped the bunches just above the point at which all the stems were fused into one ugly plastic knob.

Here’s all bits that went into one bunch. These were nice, full, bushy bunches, which made them ideal for my project.

After they were all taken apart I wired the bits back together like a garland by wrapping around the stems with fine gauge wire.

And then joined the ends of the garland by overlapping them and wrapping a whole lot more.  Since all my stems were also wired I didn’t need any additional reinforcement (like a grapevine wreath or a circle of thicker gauge wire).

Ta da!  (Or should I say DING!  I now have four wreaths, one for each season, which by my own twisted logic makes me an adult.)

As always, please ignore the bird poop.  I just washed it off over the weekend and couldn’t be bothered to do it again for the photo.
The end result is virtually indistinguishable from the geranium wreath Jo-Ann was selling in April for $39.99.  Except that mine actually has more flowers.  (Neener neener ha ha.)
— Amanda

Leave a Reply

